How To Grow Longer Hair: 3 Mindset Changes That Lead To Longer Hair

As I type this I think back to a time when my hair was severely damaged and looked like it had been cut by a lawnmower.

It’s funny because the way I used to handle my hair and the way I handle it now are so, so different! No wonder it’s actually grown!

I know I’m certainly not the only one to have felt frustrated with my hair’s growth. In fact, growing longer hair is one of the most common questions that I receive.

There are so many misconceptions about natural hair care, it’s crazy!

I’m a big believer in the idea that hair care doesn’t need to be complex, confusing or overwhelming. It should be simple and that’s exactly why I’ve outlined a few key  steps that anyone can follow.

The key to success in growing longer hair is to do your homework! Yes, I said homework! That means, changing how you view your hair and following the advice given in this post.

Doing your homework is about putting what you learn into practice and making it a habit to change your current hair care regime.

If you do this, you’ll see a huge difference in your hair’s growth, strength and health.

The first mindset change is to get rid of the belief that black/brown/curly haired girls don’t need to shampoo their hair!

If you’re NOT shampooing your hair and scalp, guess what’s happening? Your scalp is probably full of dirt, grease and other things. How is your hair supposed to grow if your scalp is clogged?

To grow longer hair, your scalp needs to be clean and healthy. That means shampooing your hair and scalp on a regular (but not too frequent) basis.

For instance, once a month would be an ideal number for many women. If your hair is prone to greasiness, you might want to shampoo more frequently.

The second mindset change is the belief that ‘greasing’ your hair is good for it. Yes, your hair and scalp need to be moisturised but knowing what to moisturise them with is essential.

Many hair greases are made with petroleum which is an ingredient that cannot absorb moisture. When you put grease in your hair, it might look shiny but it’s not actually moisturising your hair because

petroleum cannot moisturise. Rather than using hair greases, opt for products with natural and organic ingredients like jojoba oil which is one of the only oils in the world that can penetrate the hair shaft.

The third and final mindset change is the belief that black hair can’t grow long. It absolutely can! A lot of people seem to think that long hair is exclusive to people from certain racial/ethnic backgrounds but that’s not true at all. Your race doesn’t determine your hair length- proper hair care practice does! Growing longer hair is about knowledge, application and patience. Click here to tweet this quote!

If you liked this post, spread the love by sharing this link http://wp.me/p1yGki-2y on Twitter and Facebook.

Have a fabulous day!

Victoria

One comment

  1. jeraldina

    So true! Everyone is always in awe when I wear my hair out (no braid out or twist out.) They marvel at how long my hair was ( I recently cut it) The answer is quite simple: take care of your hair!

    What really worked for me was using the right products, taking care of my ends, massaging my scalp and stepping away from the heat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

